Copyright MediaConnex Asia 2017

Network of Fantastic Films (NAFF) IT Project Market Winners Announced

Finland’s “The Twins” bring home coveted Bucheon Award.


On July 18th, the winners of the Network of Fantastic Films (NAFF) IT Project Market were announced at the BIFAN Industry Gathering (B.I.G.) Closing Ceremony, which was held at the Goryeo Hotel in Bucheon.

Finnish horror film The Twins took the Bucheon Award, the market’s top prize with Taneli MUSTONEN, the film’s director, on hand to personally accept the award, which comes with a prize of 15,000,000 KRW.

A total of 10 awards were given this year, including six cash prizes totaling over $55,000 USD, and 3 awards, which offer production support. An additional prize, the Sitges Pitchbox Award, was also given and will provide a winner with round trip airfare and 5 nights accommodations, as a guest project presenter, at the next Sitges Pitchbox program in Spain.

This year, 2 projects managed to capture multiple awards. Chris Martin’s USA – Korean co-production Imaginable took home 2 post-production support awards while Chinese director BU Wei, accepted the Signal Pictures Award ($10,000 USD) and Moneff editing support award for his film Man of Sin.

While giving the most spirited acceptance speech of the night, BU Wei, a Chinese citizen, took time to make light of the recent political tension that has risen between South Korea and China due to the THAAD missile defense system.

Local South Korean projects also walked away with prizes. LEE Seungwon’s The Legend was given the Aurora Producing Award ($10,000 USD) and KIM Jaeyeon’s A Teacher won the NAFF Korea award (KRW 6 million). Aurora Media previously picked up Spanish helmer’s Alejandro Suarez Lozano’s East-West creature feature Mogwai here in 2016 through the same award, which is now in active financing and development.

The 24 projects that were invited to the event this year held over 400 business meetings with the 57 companies that attended the market. This year’s winners were chosen by a jury, which met with and interviewed each project over the market’s 2-day course.

The jury for this year’s IT Project Market was comprised of producer of Okja, Lewis KIM (Lewis Pictures and etc., Korea), Mick GARRIS (genre film producer and director, USA), Jeffrey CHAN (Bona Film Group C.O.O, China), and Sten-Kristian SALUVEER (Oree Films Partner, Storytek Creative Accelerator Founder & Creative Director, Estonia).

2017 NAFF IT Project Award Winners: 

Bucheon Award (KRW15 million): The Twins, directed by: Taneli MUSTONEN (Finland)
NAFF Award (KRW10 million): Eerie, directed by: Mikhail RED (The Philippines)
Aurora Producing Award ($10,000 USD): The Legend, directed by: LEE Seungwon (Korea)
Signal Pictures Award ($10,000 USD): Man of Sin (罪恶的代价), directed by: BU Wei (卜维) (China)
NAFF Korean Award (KRW6 million): A Teacher, directed by: KIM Jaeyeon (Korea)
DHL Award (KRW5 million): Femme Fatale, directed by: MIYAKE Kyoko (Japan)
SitgesPitchbox Award: The Embalmer ~Face of the Dead~, directed by: NISHIMURA Yoshihiro (Japan)
Moneff Award (editing support): Man of Sin (罪恶的代价), directed by: BU Wei (卜维) (China)
Wave Lab Award (post-production sound support): Imaginable, directed by: Chris MARTIN (USA/Korea)
The Color Award (digital intermediate support): Imaginable, directed by: Chris MARTIN (USA/Korea)

Share With:
Rate This Article

Chris Weatherspoon is an American film producer based in South Korea. Over the past 7 years Chris has been able to gain a wealth of experiences in the Korean feature film, television, and animation industries. Chris currently lives in Seoul where he is pursuing his MFA in Film at Chung-Ang University.

No Comments

Leave A Comment